B: Shepherds

So the idea is that two players (the shepherds) are tied together by a rope and have to work as a team to herd as many sheep as they can into the pens within 99 seconds. The blue player uses the arrow keys to move and the red player uses the wasd keys. Here is a link to the webplayer: http://bit.ly/SDyhlg
The game is way more fun with two players, but the single player is still kinda fun, if nothing else it serves as a pretty good tool for those keen on becoming more ambidextrous.

Comments

• Oh this is awesome! How did you make the rope? Do you perhaps have a tutorial for me? I've been trying to work on a rope and also a flexible rod, but I gave up. I'm a final year engineering student, so you'd think I'd have the mathematical background to do it, yet I don't apparently :/

Anyway, I suck at it playing by myself. My brain doesn't do multi-tasking. However, I imagine it would be much easier with 2 players somehow. Perhaps you should try complicating the controls a bit. Have you thought of implementing steering behaviour? So W/S is forward and backward, and A/D is for rotation. That ought to be a little more confusing. Unless confusion isn't what you are aiming at :D

I think this is a good prototype to stick with. It's pretty unique and there ought to be lots to do with it from here on.
  • Thanks for the thumbs up! I'm actually trying to make the controls a bit easier. It’s not really much easier in multiplayer… but it is a lot funnier.

The rope is super simple but super dodgy. It’s a bunch of rigidbody cubes connected to each other with some hinge joints, but because of Unity joints being kind of bouncy/ stretchy it is a mission to make it behave in a semi stable way. The bendy rod would probably be easier to achieve using an inflated interactive cloth object.
    Thanks for the feedback!
  • Ha! Haha! Check out this game I made with a few friends at a game jam once. Was a rough jam it was :/