Bevis Sketchbook (May contain nudity, violence, LARGE images and beer)

edited in Portfolios
Heya!
Starting a new sketchbook! w00t!

Here's something I worked on last night for 3 hours or so in gamemaker. Thought I may as well start with something simple since this is my first attempt at learning how to actually make games! Dn't judge too harshly I'm still trying to figure out where to put the programmings :( c&c is obviously welcome as always!

http://www.freelives.net/garbagecollector/firstgame.exe

EDIT: Btw, scene as there are no signatures [ lame :) ], heres a link to my http://bevisart.tumblr.com thing, I was going to do an art dump but that would take pages and don't wana rash peoplese internets...
Thanked by 1mikegeyser

Comments

• MAN I wish I could just toss animation together like this :) Very adorable :)

Only comment I really have is that spacebar made the skeleton more bash his head than attack someone. I was really confused for a while :)

Yay for game maker :)
  • Thats pretty cool, I like the animation too. What sort of game are you making?
  • Awesome! Bring more artists into coding! Glad you decided to get started :P
  • Very cool sketch. :)
  • Game designers and programmers here should do more sketching too!
  • I wants those skeletons as a keyring, I just don't know how they would animate it!

Considering this is @bevis 's thread any chance we can get a sketchgroup going again ;)
  • Just had a quick play, this puts my sketching to shame by comparison ;)

I noticed that the length of time that I held down the spacebar had an effect on the enemy skeleton dying in 1 hit or 2. I assume that means you're doing damage every step while the spacebar is held down (short presses = 2 hits to kill) it might make sense to use a variable as a sort of refire timer to prevent hordes of damage happening like this.

It's not too hard, have some psuedocode:
    //start of everything:
    refire = 0;

//when space is pressed:
    if (refire == 0) {