A: Star Wars the old republic.

Hey Guys.

So i have NEVER done any kind of pixel art in my life. It has however always seemed like such a cool way style of GFX and I guess my experience with older games has something to do with it as well.

Right my submission.

I want to do a Darth Malgus kind of posed as the first Sith Warrior picture. I have done my smaller resolution first draft to get an idea of the scale and the color scheme i want to use. I do not plan to do him in all black like the references, as that is SO boring and difficult to distinguish the detail.

So keep in mind I am a total noob, and all your suggestions are welcome.

P.S. Can we do some vehicles/ships for the comps too, or is it strictly characters?

Comments

• You are more than welcome to do any pixel art that you want to put up alongside your characters :) I would recommend you scale up a version and post it as part of your thread that is easier to see so people can give you suggestions.
  • I wouldn't say that Darth Malgus is all black. I think his head is definitely blue and his body, while mainly black picks up lots of red highlights from his saber; so you could work with those primary colours.

The character is bald which I think is another defining feature so maybe leave the cloak hood off your character.

I think the competition is strictly characters so we can have a common discussion.

Don't forget to add a big copy of your picture and to give it a transparent background. Also save the picture a PNG so that it doesn't pixelate so badly when people have to zoom in
  • Added x3 zoomed image to OP, and changed the image to a .png saved version.
  • edited
    Here is the revised small version. Looks more like a sith to me now.

Will be raising the pixel level now, and start detailing.

Edit: Changed arm positions and sabre lengths.
    Sith warrior 48x72.png
    48 x 72 - 973B
    Sith warrior 3x zoom.png
    144 x 216 - 2K
    Thanked by 1Nandrew
  • edited
    Progress has been made