[Tools] MonoDevelop vs Visual Studios for Unity

edited in Questions and Answers
Hi guys

got a question to ask regarding coding for Unity games.
ok now 1st of all i am very new to game dev so im gonna be asking a lot of questions :P

but the 1st one if, which programming software should i use when working with Unity?
i have noticed that Unity has a embedded type thing with Mono-develop, now i have use it a bit during the tutorials that i have been doing and its quite nice, now the reason i am asking is i was talking with a few programmers at work (not game programmers) and they told me that Visual Studios would be a much better option for me to use.

now is this true or would it just be the same no matter which i use? or would either one of them be better in any way and so on?

Comments

• edited
    Disclaimer: I'm not a serious programmer, I only care about getting things done fast and simply. I have used both programs, but for the last year have stuck with Visual Studio.

My understanding is this:

Monodevelop has the advantage that if you want to step through your code while testing your game you can. Some programmers find this VERY powerful. I don't really understand it.

Visual Studio has the advantage that its auto-completion, error highlighting and formatting are better (or certainly was a year ago). This I like as it helps me write code faster without me having to interrupt my workflow and go to Google to find things out.

Monodevelop is being actively developed by Unity. So may accrue some advantages over time.

Visual Studio is the choice of most programmers and runs slightly more lightweight than Monodevelop (which I like on my underwhelming laptop).

There may be other differences, but inferior auto-completion was a deal breaker for me with Monodevelop. Though I did use Monodevelop on some projects just fine (when I was working on Mac).
  • edited
    As always, there is a trade-off between the two.