How do you go about becoming a game designer?

edited in Questions and Answers
Howzit guys,

I wanted to find out from all you local game designers how you went about becoming game designers. I've read articles and interviews online but i wanted to get more of a local perspective as opposed to that of designers overseas.

Did you start out in programming? art? creative writing? or did you go straight for it somehow :P

And also how would you suggest someone go about becoming a game designer today and actually make a living of it?

In case you're wondering where I'm coming from: I've been studying programming for just over 20 months now tryin to find work (Mainly C#.net and SQL), and have dabbled in many many other subjects I found interesting along the way ;)

Comments

• edited
    In my case (and that of my brothers too for that matter) I got started with modding. Started modding Doom and gradually moved to Quake 1-2, UT99, UT2004 and then UT3, where we entered the MSU competition.

It helps if you really like what you're doing :)
  • Here is Game Maker

Make games, post them here; get crits/feedback; refine and repost; repeat until you have something you can work with.

One thing that I think is cool, and heard from Daniel Cook at GDC this year is the idea of working on multiple games at the same time. Chances are the idea isn't that great. You can make dozens of prototypes until you find a solid game.

tl;dr just make lots of fucking games.
  • Well, I certainly wouldn't consider myself a "game designer", but it's one of those fields where I feel it is best to learn through pure experience as opposed to learning via theory. Similar to things like film direction, journalism or photography, you'll learn most by doing because it's just too different on paper.