[Artist] In search of a full time job

edited in Jobs
Hi everyone!

I graduated 2017 at Open Window & got my degree in BA Film Arts, majoring in game design with electives in illustration. I'm currently doing part-time design / illustration work for a agricultural company in my hometown. I've selected and applied to various jobs in the past few months, sending my CV locally as well as internationally to try get my foot in the game industry. With little to no success yet.

I want to do work in illustration / design both digital and traditional however I'm still finding my feet.
Some of my weaknesses are coding & animation. However I'm open minded and willing to improve my skills.

Here's a link to most of my digital artworks from over the years (excluding traditional art) : https://www.dropbox.com/sh/r92pl7dfbpijv59/AAAZ7En9MEQ_DIGNH39NGlEea?dl=0

PM me for my CV.

Comments

• Most of the work in your portfolio does seem fairly niche.

If you think of specific game studios that you'd want to be servicing, and look at their existing games (or the portfolios of the artists who worked on them), you could tailor your portfolio more closely to them. You'd obviously have to make sure that this work is of the same quality or better, but I imagine this would increase your chances of landing work.
  • Ok, so let me give you some advice.

I run a small game dev studio. My first game was this, it's a game that's pretty much ENTIRELY illustration, and I hired around 15 freelance illustrators from around the world to make it, including Jean Roux from this forum. I received over 150 applications for my job posts, and had to filter them out.

So I have some idea of what people are looking for, when they hire illustrators to do commercial work, though of course AAA 3D games will have their own specialized requirements.