Art shenanigans

edited in Projects
Hi everyone, for those that weren't at this weeks meetup I'm the new guy, Chris. I'm a Designer/Developer at a telecommunications company and I am working on a game in my free time. I work in unity in C# and the occasional javascript and devote almost all of my time to my art, which I'm very keen to improve. I'm working on a portolfio this year which I'm hoping can get me a scholarship in an art school which would help me in my quest to become a professional concept artist.

In any case, I'll occasionally put some of my stuff up here, so tell me what you think!

Here is an oil painting I am currently working on as an environment. I work on this on sundays and I'm hoping to add it to my portfolio once it's done

This is the main character in the game I'm creating

And here is my first attempt at sculpting for a high poly mesh. unfortunately, I worked on this in blender and for some reason or another blender keeps on crashing on my pc. Luckily I've finally made the switch to zbrush, though I've had to start from scratch. in any case, here is the original.

There are a lot of other images but I'd like to keep it down to the important ones. If you'd like to see my sketch book you can find it here http://conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?238149-Dando-s-sketchbook&p=3422481#post3422481
Thanked by 1Bensonance

Comments

• edited
    Nice work! :)

The sculpt's looking quite lumpy. What I usually do is to work with hard planes at first, making sure that the various planes of the body face the correct direction, and that the angles between the planes are clear. (The same goes for just about everything else, including cloth.) Afterwards, if you smooth out the angles and add details, you're working on a strong foundation. If the base isn't clear, no amount of detail work will make it strong.

An example of what I mean:
  • Thanks Ely :) would you create those hard planes on your base mesh? Or the draft of your sculpt?
  • edited