Good idea to pay somebody to make games for you in their spare time.

edited in General
Hey guys, I've been playing around in my mind with the idea of paying somebody to work on making games for me in their spare time but I'm not sure if anybody would be willing to do that so I'd appreciate your input.

Here's some background. I'm studying engineering and I've really got a big interest in game development as well as seeing something (whether it be a game, or a physical product) go through the stages of development by starting off as just an idea and then eventually ending up as a finished product. I've got a business which I'm running on the side which has been going pretty well so I was thinking about using the profits it's making for this idea. The developer would be in charge of creative decisions but I would obviously provide my input. The focus wouldn't be to make a profit but that would be the end goal down the line. I suppose I would need to definitely provide equity in addition to the "salary"? What do you guys think? I was thinking that that is a good idea because then I know that the developer will care about the project because it will be theirs as well. What do you guys think is a fair salary for a mid to senior developer? If this idea isn't completely silly then I'm looking to do it in a few months.

Please let me know what you guys think (positive or negative) and if there are any details about my idea which should be tweaked for it to be viable.
Thanked by 1texhkt

Comments

• Whether or not its a bad idea all depends on your expectations I guess. If youre wanting something "AAA" 'ish then you will need a whole lot more human resources. If you are looking to start small and make a few mobile games and test the waters then I think it could possibly work. Just don't throw all your eggs in one basket, so to speak, incase you drop it ;)

Would be cool to know more details about your idea. Is it on-site or remote? full time or part time? Skills required?