Maverick van Aswegen Showreel

Hey there, I am a newly Graduate and looking for some critique on my work. Please also any advice on how to make a good showreel would be appreciated! :)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-7NjCyqVVwlbldIYWtmYXgwNEE/view?usp=sharing

Comments

• Heyo, not a 3D artist (unless very desperate), but I hire them. So here's some feedback from that perspective...

Liked your motion graphics opening, got into things right away. Not very concerned with which tools you're using, would rather care about what you're trying to show me you can do right now.

The fenced scene is a good way to see what you do with textures, the scene itself could be a bit more stylised - it's very square and the construction doesn't really lead the eye anywhere so the viewer just wanders around the images. I think that's why you had to zoom to make it feel more dynamic. The grass also feels really, really busy with all the flowers, if that's a shot you're going for, emphasise them a bit more in just one area of the grass maybe?

Not keen on spinning guns unless you're showing me how you go from high poly to low poly + detail textures. Things I care about there are attachment points, animation opportunities, wear patterns, etc. Still, probably the wrong person to show guns to, sorry ;)

Aha! Spinning ornithopter thing. Does it do stuff? Let it do stuff! Your texturing in the other scene was cool, apply it to this. Probably the wrong person for the tank too... Although if you showed that to the Afghanistan '11 team that might be cool.