I am starting to make music. But I suck and I need help.

edited in General
Hello there,

So yesterday I listened to chipzel's spectra (http://chipzel.co.uk/album/spectra) and I decided that I want to learn how to make 8 bit music since it would be valuable for making games. Especially the sort of games I want to make in future.

I have no music composition background though I can play the guitar but I cant write songs. But I have made this yesterday:
http://kobusvdwalt.tumblr.com/post/98628606460/i-made-a-song-although-its-really-crappy

So I would like to know :
Do you guys know of a forum that I could go that is as awesome as this one but for music specifically ?
Do you have any suggestions on what I could improve in the song above ?
Do you have any suggestions about how you can get better at composition in general ?

Thanks for your time.

Comments

• I'm not aware of any chip tune forums, but I'm fairly sure a quick Google will find you some like http://chipmusic.org/forums/

To improve, listen to lots of over chip tune music and make notes on what they do - try and figure out what they are doing to the sound and if you like that then try and emulate it. And of course make your own sounds.

Practise, practise, practise. Get a book, or watch videos on basic music theory.

Found this site of VST's for 8-bit, some are free:
    http://woolyss.com/chipmusic-plugins.php

Or you can take other virtual instruments/sound samples and run them through a plugin that down-samples the sound to 8-bit format.
  • edited
    Have you checked out the 'getting started' advice thread which provides some starting points and tips, including a few bits on chiptune?

A quick Google search also turns up this guide for creating chiptunes using a Gameboy specifically (if you're wanting to sound like Chipzel this is the approach she takes, she creates the music with the Gameboy itself using LSDJ and then takes it across to a DAW, in this case Logic, for production and mastering)