[Article] - Most game designers just suck

edited in General
Link to article here: Here

Discuss

Comments

• I'm not convinced by the opinion of Richard Garriott. The reason I say this is that I don't think that Innovation and Design are the same thing. It seems to me that he is saying that Game Designers are bad because they are failing to innovate. Which is bad for me too, but that doesn't necessarily mean they are bad. Lazy maybe....

On the other front I totally agree with the "I'm a designer" syndrome he's describing. To me a designer is someone that understands the product their trying to make the better than most other people. That means understanding just about everything about the product. If you want to make games you have to understand code, art, sound, psychology and a lot of other stuff. I don't think you have to be an expert at everything, but you need to be able to communicate on an intelligible with experts in the field. I'm always a bit skeptical when someone says "I'm a pure game designer". Also, I think you need to know a lot of stuff that is totally unrelated to creating games.
  • edited
    I just have to throw this out there

I AM BETTERAR GAME DESIGNER THAN ANYONE ELSE

Hasn't made a decent game in ten years

Also the people he says are good game designer are really an old vanguard, and a really thin selection at that.

No Jenova Chen, Jonathan Blow, Jason Rohrer, some other Indie designer whose first name does not start with a J.
  • This is what I've come to understand from the term "designer" and "director" and whatever.

I started as a designer because I thought it was about making things without having to actually make them. Ie. I was lazy.

Now I'm a designer because I've stuck with it and learned to make things by actually making them, then taking that experience and hopefully making it again, better.

"It" is as big as anything in the universe, so my laziness is the only hurdle between me and actually making things.