Unity flat shader?

Hiiiii!!

I'm looking for a shader that's compatible with Unity terrain that would have a flat shader look like so:

The theory is to simply eliminate the "smoothing" effects of the usual shaders by averaging out the vertices normals to produce a single normal and flood the poly with that one colour, instead of the usual smoothed out colour from each edge/vertice.

I have no idea how that would work, and googling hasn't come up with anything...

Is this impossibly difficult?

Comments

• edited
    Nah, this is incredibly easily actually. I do shaders for a living, not Unity though, so I'll look around and see how its done. Essentially all you need to do, is take the dot product of the surface normal, with the normal vector of your light source and multiply that with your colour. Optionally add an ambient term before the multiplication, to prevent pitch black areas.

Edit: You'll have to make sure though that you have per-triangle normals, and not per-vertex! For per-vertex normals, the normals of each triangle around a vertex is averaged, so for one triangle, there will be 3 normals specified... one at each corner. It will then interpolate to create a smooth effect. HOWEVER, for per triangle normals, you will have a flat normal on the entire surface, hence a flat colour!

EDIT2: From here: http://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/SL-SurfaceShaderLightingExamples.html

Something like this could do the trick:
    Shader "Example/Diffuse Texture" {
            Properties {
                _MainTex ("Texture", 2D) = "white" {}
            }
            SubShader {
            Tags { "RenderType" = "Opaque" }
            CGPROGRAM
              #pragma surface surf SimpleLambert

half4 LightingSimpleLambert (SurfaceOutput s, half3 lightDir, half atten) {
                  half NdotL = dot (s.Normal, lightDir);
                  half4 c;
                  c.rgb = s.Albedo * _LightColor0.rgb * (NdotL * atten);
                  c.a = s.Alpha;