Unity3D Open World Game

Hello

My name is Smith and I am a Unity developer. After learning and playing around with Unity3D for about a year I am finally thinking about creating my own 3D open world game. Is this possible in Unity3D or should I switch to something like CryEngine?

Comments

• There are some (paid) Unity plugins (with decent reviews) that add functionality for streaming levels in and out without loading screens, if you're dead-set on making something like that. That said, that's a significant investment (because if you're making an open world, you also need an enormous amount of content. Terrains can be fairly believably created with a terrain generator, but you'd need a whole lot more than terrain to fill the space), unless you've got some magical way of creating loads of content very quickly. Of course, if you're doing it for yourself, then work on whatever the heck you want, but I'd suggest making several much smaller games first for practice and experience.

CryEngine, to my knowledge, pretty much no longer gets any support after Crytek went through some financial troubles. I haven't used it myself, but my understanding is that it's a much more difficult engine to get into, with relatively sparse documentation and a community far smaller than most of the other game engines. Amazon helped them out some in return for rebranding it as an Amazon product, Lumberyard, in case you want to check that out. I believe it's free, but requires that you use Amazon's various web services or something, but, again, I think this would be game dev on hard mode, and I don't really see any point in making making games more difficult than it already is.
  • edited
    A year ago, I also had the same ambition and determination to create my own 3D, FPS, open-world survival video game. I then did tons of research and later found out that I could not do it because:
    A) I did not have the manpower, since I am basically working alone.