Predictions about future indie game markets by Daniel Cook

edited in General
This is a very sobering and I think informative article about the future of indie game markets by Daniel Cook. (Daniel Cook is the designer of games at Spry Fox studios like "Triple Town", and is well known for his articles on business and game design)

The article has a winter-is-coming-kind-of-vibe, so here is a picture of Leeroy to help:

"If anyone fears winter it's Leeroy" - A thing that is self-evident.

The article essentially predicts that on average, conditions for indie development are going to get tougher (which might come as no surprise), there's a couple strategies there for how to sidestep this.

For myself, I've been proposing these ideas for the last 6 years or so (that the forces that killed indie developers in the late nineteen nineties will conspire to make conditions tougher for indie development once more over the next decade), which is why Free Lives has been gradually growing larger (in order to stay a bit ahead of the market).

http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/DanielCook/20161121/285971/Autumn_of_Indie_Game_Markets.php

I think for South Africans, we have a few advantages that might make us resistant to these forces. The cost of living is low in South Africa, so we can (generally) work on games for longer for the same costs, or for that matter sustain a studio for much longer with the same amount of money.

It might also mean South African game developers can be market leaders in creativity as the rest of the industry feels the pinch much harder and are forced to make fewer adventurous decisions, possibly leaving a gap for relatively experimental South African games.

Comments

• The cost of living is low in South Africa
    As compared to?
  • edited
    dammit said:
    The cost of living is low in South Africa
    As compared to?