Learning C# help

Hi guys I have been teaching myself programming for the last 8 years or so, I started on C. And then found C#. which I actually prefer. Over the last 8 years I have learned writeline and readline. And also a whole mess of stuff not programming related. Getting back on track I realize I haven't done squat in 8 years and find that its all because I hate teaching myself. And I cant find any decent video tutorials that explain what they are doing, instead of just doing it and telling me to do it a lot until it makes sense. What I need is somebody who is willing to teach me. Is there anybody on the east rand, preferably around Primrose, Edenvale or Bedford that can help me out. I am willing to pay. Although I wont since I cant afford to. But the thought counts right. I don't need somebody who is super advanced. But just somebody who knows more and can teach everything I will need to just get started. I haven't made it to the point where I could make any functional game, even on the lowest of quality levels. And I think that has been a key factor in me not staying motivated. Thanks. Oh another thing. Is it better to learn C# in something like Visual Studio. Or can I learn to program in C# from within Unity.

Comments

• First question: Do you want to learn C#, or learn to make a game? If you want to learn to make a game, continue. If you want to learn C# ONLY, I have no idea.

Download it (google Unity download).
    Install it, run it.
    I started with this video:
    Follow it with Unity open. Pause when you do stuff. Follow and do everything. It gives you a good grasp of how it works.
    Then follow on by looking through the rest of unitycookie's videos - there are more than those too.

Basically, try to specify what you want to learn, then google it. You'll find it. (For example, "unity 2D platformer tutorial" or "unity gui tutorial".