Pombs stuff n stuff

edited in Projects
Hello people, I've put the X1L prototype I showed at the last meet up on hold, some interesting events happened with that, which I'll share later.. while that's happening I've started on a new prototype I'm calling runner - placeholder name - after
Evan's talk, with the suggestion of making many prototypes and then choosing one to flesh out more when you have many to choose from, seemed a pretty awesome Idea. So my journey in making many (10) prototypes has begun. This I hope will also serve as a learning experience since I have limited programming experience ( read I'm an animator ).
The first prototype up is inspired by Cabalt / Robot Unicorn, except instead of jump on key down I have key down to power jump height, jump on release. I've also since added a (buggy) double jump. Seemed to get well received at work when I added an animated character and 8 bit sounds, seems the people don't like silent cube 'n capsule games I thou... blah blah blah
Here's a link to the download page, where I'm hoping to document my progress in my game dev attempts.

http://pmlomb.wordpress.com/games/runner-prototype/

( please remember code experience is at noob levels, for now.)

Comments

• I can certainly see that you're coming from an animation background as the character, animation and presentation is brilliant. It feels like the beginnings of a cool modern Mario adaption :).

It's a nice little prototype to start with, but there are a couple of things I will say: it took me a few minutes to figure out how the jump function actually worked, you perhaps need to have some sort of meter to the side to indicate to the player that a jump is 'charging' and also show how high the avatar will jump. So a full meter when released will jump higher than a half filled meter (I'm not even sure if this is how your system works currently - if not, see if it works or not!)