Trailer Advice "Revenge of the Letters"

edited in General
Morning Indies!

We have been working on our first game trailer "Revenge of the Letters" and we need some feedback from the professionals.
Please we are looking for an honest opinion so that we know which parts to add/remove and which effects to use to better improve the quality of the trailer.

Thanks!

Comments

• edited
    I haven't given feedback for this game yet, although your thread has been up for a long while over at http://makegamessa.com/discussion/4170/prototype-revenge-of-the-letters ...So this is my first time seeing the game (there is not video or screenshots in the development thread).

I think the audio is probably the area where you can get the most improvement the easiest in this trailer. The song evokes military themes, it's a track usually over patriarchal footage of war preparations (and this song these days usually is used as a way to make the military seem silly), and it sort of works over the gameplay, but it's very much the wrong tone over the logo.

There aren't any sound effects in the trailer not from the gameplay, just the music, so most of the action on screen is silent apart from the action in the gameplay (and these sounds are played at a constant full volume). This feel particular strange when the camera seems to focus on events other than the gameplay (like the military planning, the logo appearing or the feet stamping of that machine).

I think it's also pretty hard to read the logo when it does come up (and the music doesn't cue the viewer that they're meant to focus their attention on what is on screen at that point).