Game Designing

Hi there ,

how does one get into game designing ? I'm currently working on a few gaming projects but i don't know which gaming companies to contact in order to assist.

Comments

• Welcome to MGSA!

As far as I understand your question, you're looking to contract a person/company to help you make something?
    If so, this list is the best place to start.
  • Companies are going to ask for a portfolio of examples of your game design skills. You should also look at prototyping some of your own games.
  • If the question is "How does one get hired as a game designer". The simple answer is "Make as many games as you can".

There's lots of tools that are easy to pick up and develop a game in. Also modding existing games should give you experience and portfolio pieces to further your game design career.
    Thanked by 2KleinM Fengol
  • thanx for the responses back - really do appreciate it. How does ones compile a portfolio ? I'm new to the game design field , as i haven't released / created any games yet. It's just draft copies of how the game should start ( cut scene ) and taking it from there so its like brainstorming ideas. It's not a fully worked out game yet.
    Thanked by 1pieter
  • A portfolio is just a fancy word for "A list of things I've made", maybe in a Word document, maybe with some formatting.

You say you have some ideas, well test them out by making some prototypes. A prototype is just a bare bones version of your idea, no fancy graphics, sound or cut scenes, particle effects or shaders. It's squares and circles moving around on grids and different coloured squares. You use them to test if your core mechanic is fun, if yes -> refine, if no -> discard & move on to the next idea.