[COMP G] ZAP! (Zombies Are Primitive!)

Hey guys

This is my entry for the March game dev competition.

I want to start of by saying this is my first attempt at making a game, so expect my work to be quite primitive (pun intended).

The basic story premise is:

-The Primitive World has been struck by a plague that is turning all the primitives into zombies. The player is enlisted b y the Prime Primitive (creator of the primitives) to fight the zombies and restore piece to the world.

Gameplay summary:

-The game will be a basic top-down survival game.
-When zombie primitives are killed, they will sometimes drop primitive pick-ups that the player can collect and use to build new gear in the Prime Forge. A basic example, two rectangles can be combined with a triangle to make a sword.
-Enemies will evolve as the player score increases.
-If the player is touched by a zombie primitive, the infection count increases, if infection count reached 100 the player becomes a zombie and the game ends.

Here is an early screenshot:

I am attaching the first build (only includes circle enemies and there is no Forge yet):

Additions planned for next build:
-More enemy shapes.
-Tougher enemies as score increases.
-A better HUD to display score, infection and pick-ups.

As I said, I am quite new to this so any comments and advice will be appreciated.

Untitled.png
1165 x 901 - 29K
zip
zip
ZAP!_Build2.zip
45M
Thanked by 1konman

Comments

• Hey there! I'm pleased that you've chosen this compo as your first attempt to make games!

Now, being a judge, I can't reaaaaally play and comment on the game before you submit it for reals, but I'd like to pop in to encourage you to carry on working on your idea as far as you can.