Understanding the State Machine

Hello Everyone

I am a newbie Game Developer that has a vacation break at the moment. I plan on using my time effectively to teach myself Game Development Skills so that I can make myself marketable to the Game Development Industry. (I am currently Studying Bsc Computer Science with the aspiration to complete my Honors degree by 2018).

Anyways I am reading a very nice Unity Tutorial book at the moment learning some basics of C# Programming in Unity (since Game Programming is a bit different) but I have stumbled upon the concept of a State Machine. My Question is if anyone can elaborate what exactly a State Machine is, What it is used for and how important it is when making your game. From the book I can see that It is a really powerful tool and concept to use in game development (might even be a big cornerstone) but I would like to hear from you guys.

Hope everyone is doing well and good luck with all the prototypes and projects!
Thanked by 1critic

Comments

• Hi @mkShogun96, I am actually busy programming a prototype using a finite state engine (and have made a couple in the past as well) so this explanation will be to help you as well as myself to understand it a bit better :)

A finite state engine takes all the states that an object can be in (eg. Player) and breaks them into discreet states (eg. Standing, Jumping, Walking, Attacking etc.). The idea is to keep each state independent from the other so tweaking one doesn't affect the other states (however you can still have them influence each other if you want).

This helps simplify a variety of things in your game:

1) Animation
    By knowing which state your object is in, you can easily just apply the sprite (or skeletal animation) that is associated with that state. So:
    if (stateRunning == true){
    	sprite = spriteRunning;
    } else if (stateStanding == true){
    	sprite = spriteStanding;
    }

2) Cleaner Code