Where to Start With Coding?

edited in Questions and Answers
Happy Sunday, guys

As I'm sure you've figured out, I'd really like to get into game dev and design, but I have no coding experience. It seems pretty essential so I'd like to learn, but it's quite intimidating and I really don't know where to start. There's different kinds of languages and not all of them benefit game development. I'd just like some help to get going in the right direction. Thanks in advance, guys.

Comments

• I recommend getting GameMaker (free) and using their drag-and-drop interface to make some prototype games. It's very comprehensive and easy to learn and you'll immediately have some exciting results
    Thanked by 1Mickey
  • Alternatively you could give the Unity Engine a go. You can code in C#, JS or Boo. I would personally recommend C#. The nice thing about Unity is that you can code in one language but port to several platforms. Also, there's a lot of useful plugins, resources etc on their asset store, so most of the time you won't even be doing the heavy lifting in terms of complexity.

Then hit the web, Youtube in particular for tutorials. It might seem intimidating at first but you'll get the hang.
    Thanked by 1Mickey
  • I would recommend you get any paperback book on game programming and work through it. If I had to start game coding now it would probably be Unity using C#.
    Thanked by 1Mickey
  • I also recommend Unity and C#. there are many tutorials online that will put you off to a great start. I also think it is more time efficient and beneficial in the long run to start with Unity and C# than most other options, especially in SA.
    Thanked by 1Mickey
  • edited
    C# and Unity are helluva deep-end stuff for a first-time coder though. It's powerful, yes, and still softer than C++, but it can be very intimidating coming in fresh. Trust me. I know.