The thin red line, creativity in action or stealing?

edited in Questions and Answers
Just a general question. Where does one draw the line between the creative process and just plain stealing an idea? As a newbie game developer I was just wondering about this. Is it ok to take an idea from someone in a forum like this and use/expand or modify it ? I am not talking about making an exact clone.

Comments

• This is an interesting topic and actually depends highly on the content itself. On the one hand without appropriation in this industry we wouldn't have many genres of games we love today (for example Terraria appropriated Minecrafts core gameplay ideas but presented them in a vastly different way creating another awesome game and added to the creation of said genre). When I say it depends on the content itself I mean it is highly volatile and depends on which game you are appropriating and how much you change the core ideas.

As an example, Pixel Boy is highly inspired by Diablo and Smash TV however when you look at the game you wouldn't consider it to be a Diablo clone. We did take the levelling up system and creature loot dropping ideas from Diablo however we added enough unique art and gameplay elements that people wouldn't consider us a clone. This is also due to the "aspirin" effect, this refers to when something has been used often enough and by as many people that it becomes considered to be owned by public domain, for example the idea of an RPG levelling system or an FPS camera perspective aren't thought to be stealing from D&D or Wolfenstein/Doom respectively but rather just things that "everyone" can use.

If you look at COD and Battlefield, they are practically the same game (in terms of mechanics and setting) however the depth of both games and subtle differences make them "unique" products).