Starting game programing

edited in General
Hi guys. I dont know if this is the right place for questions but I did register on this site because it is local. OK. I realy do need some advice on game programing and the whole learnig curve. Do any one have some advice on who to ask or where to get some extra help in SA? I mean like someone that can explain. I did start off with c++ DirectX 10 and have a couple of books but some stuff is still not clear. I'm completely new in the game making comunity and so on so please excuse.
Thanks.

Comments

• edited
    I would recommend checking out 3dbuzz.com's training course linked below:
    http://www.3dbuzz.com/training/bundle/c-plus-plus-complete

They are very very in depth about programming and making games, there are a lot of hours of training there but speaking from my experience it is totally worth it.I went through a good 30-40 hours of the Xna Xtreme 101 series and found that they explained things better than some of the books that I had bought.

And if your math is crappy (as mine is :_: ) then they have a Mathematics bundle too yay ! :)
    http://www.3dbuzz.com/training/bundle/mathematics-bundle-volumes-iiii

I hope that helps.
    Thanked by 1Blanky
  • Hi @fanie, welcome to the community. :)

May I ask what it is that you want to do exactly? I mean, do you want to learn how to program as a means to an end for creating games?
  • You can start at the FAQ: http://www.makegamessa.com/discussion/6/gamedev-newcomer-faq

C++ is a hard language to learn if you don't have any experience. If you haven't programmed before, try something like GameMaker. Most of us here use Unity so we don't have to worry with as many nitty-gritty low level stuff as you would when using C++ and DirectX.