Master's research project.

edited in General
Hi everyone.

I'm here to introduce myself. My name is Tim and I am doing my Masters in music this year focusing on game music, broaching such topics as the function of music in games comparative to film music as well as the different functions of music in AAA titles, Indy titles and Hobbyist works.

I met a few people at the Global Game Jam and they told me to put up a little intro here and come meet everyone at the next bi weekly meeting.

Just to give you guys an idea I am looking to collaborate with people who might be in the process of creating a game currently as well as possibly creating a demo of a game that illustrates a more integral function of sound and music into the mechanics of the game. Some grand ideas but that is why I just want to meet some people and start from there.

As well as creating a musically sound set of compositions I want to use this portfolio to illustrate different functions of game music and to showcase my ability to compose for many different styles of games as well as explore different approaches to creating game music, so I want to attempt to make the example material as multifaceted as possible.

If anyone is interested in being involved or has a project that needs music/sound let me know and I could work it into my portfolio.

Thanks a lot.
Regards,

Tim Harbour
Thanked by 2hanli edg3

Comments

• Howdy captain
  • Hi Tim, welcome! :)
  • How do you feel about dubstep?
  • Hey, welcome, do you maybe have a soundcloud or some online samples of your work we can listen to?
  • Hi Tim,

I'm currently supervising an MA along very similar lines. It may be useful for you two to talk about your work and share resources. If you would like to drop me a line on my Wits address (hanli.geyser@wits.ac.za) we could chat about it. Who is supervising you? It may be nice for me to get in contact with them as well.

Best

Hanli
  • edited