3D models for a new game

Hi everyone
I've just started working on a new game, and I'm busy with the planning / budgeting stage.
So one area of the game I'm not sure about is some of the 3D models. I can do the programming, and I have others who can help me there. I have 2D and conceptual artists for those assets, but I don't have anyone for 3D models.
Basically I want to weigh up what it would cost me to see if it is viable. I plan on using UE for development, although I don't think that would impact the work of the artists making the 3D models.

I know the cost highly varies depending on what you want, but I was wondering if anyone could give me a ballpark estimate what it would cost for a model.
I'm no artists, but what I think I need:
-It is a PC game, so not low poly count models. I'm guessing like 6-10Ktris
-Fully rigged with 10 or so animations (walking, attacking, dying etc)

I was looking around on the asset store, and found this:
https://www.unrealengine.com/marketplace/en-US/product/monsters-pack-volume
That is pretty close to what I want (and I might consider taking it as one of my options). I probably don't need something quite as good, but I want to get it as good as I can afford.
The creatures needs to be non earth-like.

So after all that, what I'm really asking is
-What will a model like that cost me on average (for an original design)?
-Is there even anyone on these forums that have the capacity to do these (lets say 5)?-
-would it just be easier / cheaper for me to buy something like the pack above?
-I've also considered dropping the 3D model thing and just using my 2D artists and make a 2.5D game instead (think don't starve).
-Any other suggestions? Let's pretend that learning 3D modeling for me or my team is not an option.

Comments

• edited