Rigidbody and Polygon Colliders 2D on MouseDrag

edited in Projects
Hi there.
I am pretty new to coding in Unity and I am having an issue with Rigidbody and Colliders2D in my coding. The character I have, has both of them added as Added Components – Physics 2D.
It works nicely with the 2D Polygon Collider surface until the mouse picks it up and the moves it around.
It then disregards the Polygon Collider surface and moves right through it until it is dropped at which time it then recognizes the surface Polygon Collider again.
I have tried adding in the Rigidbody in the code on MouseDrag but it doesn’t want to work.

Comments

• Before Mouse Drag
    bug1.JPG
    473 x 369 - 28K
  • on Mouse Drag
    BUG2.jpg
    478 x 314 - 23K
  • edited
    You're SETTING the location of the object instead of moving it by physics. If you don't move something by physics, it's going be set exactly where you tell it to, with no regards for collision to anything between where it's from and where it's being told to go.

You need to move the object to the destination via physics.

A more advanced way of doing it is with a PID system which I coincidentally was just asking about in another post: http://makegamessa.com/discussion/5859/physics-pid-system-or-something-that-tracks-real-life-movement-well#latest

For a simple way to do it this should work:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Rigidbody2D.MovePosition.html
    Thanked by 1Elyaradine
  • Thanks.... I think it may be the Kinematic part that should be Dynamic according to the Unity link.... but the script would not accept a change from:
    rb.isKinematic
    to
    rb.isDynamic
  • isKinematic and isDynamic can be set right on the rigidbody from the Inspector, but I doubt that has anything to do with your problem - as long as you're using .transform.position = blah to set coordinates, the movement WILL NOT interact with the physics system.
  • There is no isDynamic. It's rb.isKinematic = true or rb.isKinematic = false.