Help me out with ideas

https://youtu.be/Pv-m6fvxp-k

This a prototype I have been working on for some time now and I want some help from you guys with some ideas especially on art cause I have no idea what I to do with the art I am not an artist as you can see it's just rectangles for now and also feedback on the game mechanics. thanks ;(

https://youtube.com/watch?v=Pv-m6fvxp-k&feature=youtu.be

Comments

• Hey there!

Not an artist, but would you have a link to a playable build handy that you can post? It's really hard to give mechanical feedback if we can't actually play the game. A video is just a video, after all. ;)
    Thanked by 1Jay
  • Something I like to do is to try and think of a feeling or a fantasy that I'd like to portray, and then figure out what visual or gameplay elements would help to convey that.

If you're not an artist, then I wouldn't recommend you worry about the art itself, unless it's something you intend to take up. But it'd still be good to know what feeling or fantasy you want, to give you some direction with what to experiment with next.

Word salad:

Ninja, acrobat, Olympics, Sparta, pirate, bounty hunter, hero without superpowers, hero with superpowers, Amazonian, jungle, parkour, pursuit, re-animated dead, teenage witch, zoo animal
    Thanked by 1Jay
  • I like how you can jump on the arrow you just shot into the wall. I don't think I've seen that before. That's interesting. You could add a time limit where the arrow might break after awhile, which forces the player to move, which adds a slightly different mechanic. I see wall jumping works too (as would double jump), but I think players have seen it before and are looking for something new and different. New ways of traversing a level if that is the goal?