Game Engines

On the debate of engines (not one I'm trying to solve) a bunch of hobbyist gamedevs at my company got together to discuss why we chose the engines we prefer working in. GameMaker: Studio showed quite a lot of promise for flexing the game design muscle in being able to prototype 2D games quite quickly without having to get down into the engineering side - something that I get bogged down in way too easily seeing as I do software development professionally. I've been tinkering in Unity for the past 3 years so my exposure to the Unreal engine is quite limited.

What really cooked my noodle was how different Unreal and Unity were though. It seems that from a scripting standpoint the two engines take what seems to be vastly different approaches, but the short discussion we had still left me wanting to know more. Coming from immersing myself quite a bit into the ECS work Unity's been doing over the past few months I'm getting very stuck understanding exactly what approach Unreal uses. I understand the idea of Blueprints and that it is essentially just C++ code that gets scaffolded for you (scaffolded maybe not quite being the best choice of words), but I'm not sure I completely understand how one would "debug" a game from a designer's perspective. Unity kind of forces you to put everything in the hierarchy and that makes it quite accessible to have relatively easy access to your game's current state, but I'm not sure if I understand how one would look at and understand what's going on in Unreal.

I'm not even sure if I'm wording my what I'm misunderstanding correctly, but my intention is to just understand the workflows a little better.

Comments