Game Engine (Unity) vs Native for a gamified app

Hi,

While there is a lot of discussion on this topic all over the net, a lot of it is a few years old.
I am an Android developer. I have been tasked to build an app that is heavily gamified - so not a game per se, but a lot of animation, basic characters etc required.

We have quite a small team (I am the only developer) and I have been looking at Unity. So far I like what I see and I feel there are lot of aspects that Unity can simplify for us. Cross platform development is also a big plus. I need to interface with some native code to make use of the microphone, but it seems this should be fairly simple with the plugin system.

What are possible pitfalls I should look out for? While the app has a lot of "gamey" aspects - it is also quite heavily UI based and I am worried that Unity will make the UI part harder.

I would really appreciate advice from people who have worked on both sides...

Thanks!

Comments

• I haven't used Unity for what you're thinking about (although I have used other game engines for similar jobs and done both native and game-engine-based apps that aren't games), but the trade-off is usually: if you want to make an app look like a native app (in terms of UI), or you want it to use a lot of low-level stuff, like GPS, camera, etc., then using a game engine will be like pulling teeth. However, if you want to make something that is very quick to port cross-platform and is going to predominantly look like a game, then game engines are your best bet.