Game Maker programming question

edited in General
I'm pretty new to game maker (well since I've actually taken up programming anyway). Since then I used to do my own things from scratch, or work with unity.
I often use method overriding. It's just the most useful thing I got from OOP. Though I'm not sure what I can do in game maker which would be similar. Is there an alternative? I know about scripting, but how can I change a script to be customised for each child object?

Comments

• Well, arguments arent strongly needed, you can easily test the arguments taken in by a script to see what you want to do? But Im unsure what you mean by "making a script customised for each child"?
  • edited
    Uhm let me try and explain what I mean.

I may have two objects. Each has an AttackOpponent function. Inside each has a Shoot function, which I want to "customise" so to speak, for each child object I make (say, one will shoot bullets, the other one rockets - so the shoot function for each will be unique, but yet they are both still considered a shoot function)

AttackOpponent
    {
    //similar code for all children here
    shoot()
    }

In other languages, I can put the AttackOpponent method in a base class, and have a Shoot() method which is overridable in some way. Then I can make the child classes, and extend this base class, and simply override the Shoot method, each implementing it in its own unique way. So then I can just generically call my AttackOpponent function for any child and know it will do what it should both the common code as well as the customised code as it should.

Does that make any sense whatsoever?

ooh, I think the key is user-defined events
  • well why didn't you construct your AttackOpponent so that you pass a argument to it that tells it whether to skip shoot() or not, and have the if statement that tests that argument?

I'm not even sure whta you're talking about with user-defined events...
  • edited