New Gamer

Hi .... Im new to this gaming thing. I have this idea but struggling to put on to paper ,Its been close to a year.
First is the a place were you can check games that are already patented in case someone has the same idea?
When its all done where are the platforms that offer funding?
Is it wise to collaborate with someone?

Comments

• I think you have some misconceptions about how games get made, and I think some of these can be addressed by thinking about it in terms of how an investor (or whoever else might be offering funding, whether it's crowd-funded or angel investment or whatever) would think about it.

1. Even a simple game easily costs over a million rand to make. (For reference, Angry Birds cost over $100k.)
    2. The market is highly competitive, and the vast majority of games make a loss.
    3. How can you convince me, as an investor, that I'm going to make money investing in your product?

Practically, it means that if you've never made a game before, you have pretty much no chance of getting any funding in your project, because the chance of failure is simply too high. With no experience behind you, there is no way for you to estimate the cost of developing the game, which makes any type of business plan flimsy and unreliable; no investor would be willing to throw money away like that.

You could make your project look better by showing that you've got a highly experienced team who've worked on other successful projects... but how would you get a highly experienced team to work on your project? You could pay them, if you already have money. You could promise them money (as many people do), and they would turn you down (because they're also thinking like investors, and see your inexperience as being "high risk"). People joke often about how "getting paid when the Kickstarter is funded" is practically the same thing as not being paid at all.