Machine learning in games

This is something I'm very interested in.
As something for the future I would like to implement Machine learning into my games.
I currently work with Game Maker Studio.

Does anyone have experience with implementing Machine learning into their games?

Any help or info will be highly appreciated:)

Here is a video of Machine learning in action:
Thanked by 1Trimpiece

Comments

• Machine learning is such a broad thing so the answer is pretty much: it depends on what you want to do. You could want to use it for an AI player, or for procedural generation as part of a generate and test meta algorithm, or something else entirely. I have some experience with machine learning, but it's not the same as MarI/O, so if that's what you wanna do it'll probably be of little use to you. Out of interest's sake, I used reinforcement learning for a Go player.

That said, machine learning is also a very deep rabbit role you can fall into. If you're wanting to do it as a learning exercise I can see the value in that, but there are likely much easier ways to make a game better. For example, if you wanna make an AI player, machine learning is unlikely to be the best approach except for a research topic, the smoke 'n mirrors approaches usually perform better for a fraction of the implementation costs.
    Thanked by 2pieter Jurgen
  • Cool:) Thanx for the feedback @francoisvn. You've also answered another question I've had.
    I've been thinking of a way to improve fighting game AI where at the moment I am using a Finite state machine.
    An idea I've had was to get the AI to learn to execute better/ more efficient states as the fight progresses.

I could do this without Machine learning I reckon. If I take note of player input over time, I could adapt the AI's behaviour.
    For example: If the player falls into true for 'Player-agressive-behaviour' then the appropriate behaviour for the AI 'Ai-counter-behaviour' will be executed.