How does one design an alien race like the Zerg from Starcraft?

The Zerg fascinated me ever since I started playing Starcraft years ago, their organic design inspires me today to create my own nightmarish race of evolving creatures.
I've looked at concept art and I am wondering how did Blizzard create a race that varies so much individually, yet remains part of a whole?

Comments

• Unfortunately Blizzard can't claim much credit for the concept and general design of The Zerg. They're pretty much entirely based on The Tyranids from Warhammer 40k. (As an interesting note, all the original Starcraft and Warcraft races were inspired by Warhammer/ Warhammer 40K counterparts).

It doesn't mean Blizzard didn't put tons of fantastic artists to work to help visualise The Zerg in an awesome style, but the hive-minded concept and general visual style of the creatures was already there thanks to Warhammer.
    Thanked by 2Jurgen Pixel_Reaper
  • @BenJets, wow, that's really interesting.
    I found this:
    kotaku.com/5929161/how-warcraft-was-almost-a-warhammer-game-and-how-that-saved-wow

So, The Zerg aren't as original as I thought they were:P
    The Tyranids are an extragalactic composite species of hideous xenos that is actually a space-faring ecosystem comprised of innumerable different bioforms which are all variations on the same genetic theme. The Tyranid race is ultimately dedicated solely to its own survival, propagation and evolutionary advancement.
    - warhammer40k.wikia.com/wiki/Tyranids
  • edited
    And the Tyranids were probably based on parts from elsewhere too, like HR Geiger's Aliens.

And no not to take anything away from Blizzard, they do fantastic design, even if their universe is very derivative. What isn't these days though? :)

The Protoss were a lot like the Eldars also from 40k, but I think they broke further away from the Eldars than the Zergs from Tyranids.

--------------