Is it viable to be a 3D Level Designer in Cape Town?

I'm trying to better acquaint myself with the game dev industry in Cape Town and discover where employment opportunities may lie. I'm a 3D level designer / environment artist. I've been searching for game dev companies in Cape Town and examining their portfolios to see where I could potentially offer my skills.

I've become somewhat concerned that there might not be any opportunities for someone like me in Cape Town. The impression I get is that most game development companies in Cape Town are creating games that don't require the participation of a 3D level designer / environment artist. I see plenty of quality work being done on stylised 2D and pixel art games. The 3D games I've seen are mostly games without levels/environments (virtual board games, for example).

I'm hoping that I'm just completely out of touch with the goings-on of the Cape Town game dev industry. Are there any companies in Cape Town who're working on the sort of games that include carefully crafted 3D environments? Perhaps some of the more experienced patrons of this fine forum will be able to help expand my knowledge of the industry. Any assistance would be much appreciated.

--------------------

By the way, I did come across one company that looked promising called Tasty Poison Games. They have some games in their portfolio (Tom Sparks, Neon Shadow) that look like the sort of thing I could make a meaningful contribution to. I sent a speculative letter of application to them a couple of weeks ago but, unfortunately, I haven't received any reply.

--------------------

In case you're interested in seeing examples of my previous work, please browse my website:

http://matthewkerswill.com/

Comments