The Purpose of Make Games SA

edited in General
Hi Guys,

I'm glad to announce that the much talked about revamp of the site and forums is going to finally happen. A big thank you to Free Lives who will be contributing some financial assistance so we can get some professional help doing the web development and migration. We will start the process formally next year.

In the mean time I want to use this opportunity for us to reflect on what the purpose of Make Games actually is. The end result will be that we want the functionality of the new site to reflect our "why".

So I ask you to please list what you think the purpose of Make Games is, and more importantly what functionality would be needed on the website to enable this purpose.

Comments

• I see MGSA's purpose as:
    -To provide a community and (safe) space for South African game developers of all persuasions, from all backgrounds, and of all levels (from curious potential gamedevs and absolute beginners, through hobbyists to professional developers) to commune both online and IRL.
    -Within that community/space to provide help and learning opportunities, constructive feedback on projects and opportunities to compete and collaborate in competitions and jams.
    -To grow this community by reaching out to those new to game development or currently working in isolation from the larger community and industry.

And to help achieve this the website should:
    -Communicate the above purpose
    -On first arrival provide useful information on where to start with both the community and game development itself, the latter through direct links to existing forum content
    -Have clear, prominent links to the forum itself, as well as to whatever social media spaces (probably an FB group and the MGSA Twitter account) determined to be most useful in achieving the above purpose
    -Have concise information on the date and location of upcoming MGSA meetups