Gareth's Workshop

Right, everything is setup for System Crash's steam release and I've had a few weeks break to play computer games and relax, so I'm ready to tackle something new now.

I've got tons of game ideas, but before I go down any particular path I want to play around a bit, prototype some mechanics, test out some of the tools and unity assets I've accumulated, get a handle on how long certain types of content will take to produce so I can make proper estimates.

I'm creating this thread in order to share whatever I'm currently working on. It'll be pretty eclectic, I'm primarily a programmer/designer but I dabble in a lot of areas. When I finally settle on a project I'll spawn that off into a new thread.

To start off with, since I am thinking my next game will be 3D, I'm getting to grips with Probuilder (3D modelling app for Unity). Knocking the rust off my 3D modelling skills, and there's a lot of rust.

I'm also testing out some procedural generation stuff. Not sure whether I'll go that route, but I'm keen to find ways to generate content more efficiently.

System Crash, as a CCG, was the worst of both worlds. A large number of hand-crafted missions and deck strategies that needed to be carefully fine-tuned, a delicate strategic balance, but an enormous number of potential play permutations to test. Small balance changes rippled through the system, requiring extensive retesting, it was a total headache.

Anyway, so I'm looking into procedural context and level design. And, as is traditional, I've started off with a simple maze generator.

(Note, the 3D mesh version of the generated maze is messed up, got some tile rotation issues I'm fixing.)

Algorithm is dead simple.

- Pick a random tile and call DIg() on it.

Where Dig() does:

- Set current tile to 'open'.
- Consider each tile neighboring the current tile, one-by-one but in random order.