SA Game Industry - Research Project

Hey MGSA,

First time posting here so I'll briefly introduce myself.

My name is Jeandre Viljoen and I'm in my final semester of BA degree in Sound Production in Cape Town.
Over the last few years I've been hectic in to anything sound and music related and only recently (in the last few months) I've realised what exactly I want to do when I finish College, being a serious gamer growing up, my heart has always been with videogames, so it made sense for me to combine my two passions and try to pursue a career in videogame audio.

So in my journey to learn everything about the industry, Ive watched some documentaries on game design, Watched tutorials and various YouTube videos, I've trolled the MGSA forums and did some basic desktop research. So I have a very BASIC understanding of the industry and how things work. But in addition to that, My last semester final research project requires me to go and physically research something. I figured this would a an effective use of time to use the research project to learn about the industry and meet some professionals.

So I figured this forum would be the best way to network and connect with some individuals and professionals.

Now down to the nitty gritty:
My project, adequately titled:

SA vs AAA - Fight!
aims to explore the current commercial state of the local videogame development industry (from the inside), compared to AAA international industries and videogames. And depending on the outcome of the gathered data, I have to conclude what the main differences are and if it is the case, what would need to change in order for the industry to grow and compare to the AAA's.

Thats obviously the very basic outline of the goal of my research project. now i KNOW this project wont suddenly yield amazing results and solve any problems, but it's a way to analyse the industry and gain perspective on where SA is in terms of growth, especially from the point of view of an "outside individual".