IN NEED OF AN ARTIST

I'm looking for a partner to help me create a 2D isometric RPG adventure, I'm very new to games development and would really like to partner up with someone who can help realise my idea

Comments

• I think you might get more response if you can describe the project in more detail, or ideally so some gameplay using dev art.

But I also am considering hiring an artist and I've been asking around for rates which seem to start from R500 an hour for a student or junior artist. I don't know about other industries but in the traditional IT sphere that's a top developer's pay, around R84,000 a month! WTF or am I missing something?
  • @Fengol

I agree that seems very steep for a student or junior. My dayjob is mechanical engineer and again only top management could hope for that rate. Maybe we have to rethink our career paths ;) lol
  • Hmm, a student or junior should probably be charging around the R250 range, my odd projects I go for R300. On the other hand, you get what you pay for and these projects can often be huge.

http://makegamessa.com/discussion/1271/wes-s-art-dump#Item_25

Look at it (I got a day job in UI design so admittedly my turn-around time isn't great).
  • @dando

Something you could also consider is buying art of the Asset Store, this might cost you less in the end than working with a professional artist. The Unity asset store has a wide range of art available that should be suitable, especially in the early stages of design. Have a look at David Wehle's blog post here: http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/DavidWehle/20160706/276452/So_Many_Projects_So_Little_Time.php. He talks a bit about the benefits of using asset stores and names a few.

Hope that helps!
    Thanked by 1dando
  • (I don't think this should be posted in the Portfolio section.)