Typescript class problem (C# developers could help ;)

Hey there,

So I am having a problem with typescript. I am still a newb with TS so be gentle..

I have script "app.ts" like this :
function init ()
{    
    // Create box
    var box = new Box();
    box.AddToScene(scene);
}
init();

And then I have a another script "box.ts" like this :
class Box {
    keyboard;
    mesh: THREE.Mesh;
    constructor (){
        // Set up input
        this.keyboard = new THREEx.KeyboardState();

// Create mesh
        this.mesh = new THREE.Mesh(
            new THREE.BoxGeometry(1, 1, 1),
            new THREE.MeshBasicMaterial({color: 0xff00ff})
        );

// Initiate update loop
        setInterval(this.Update, 30);
    }

Update () {
        if (this.keyboard.pressed("left"))
        {
            this.mesh.position.x -= 0.01;
        }
    }

public AddToScene (scene : THREE.Scene){
        scene.add(this.mesh);
    }
}

I have omitted a bunch of irrelevant code to keep the post short but if you would like to see the full code just say the word.

The problem :
The box I am instantiating works great and the Update method gets called every 30 ms but I get an error when I press left that says the mesh property is undefined. However when I access the mesh property from the app.ts script it works and is defined. So I am thinking the problem must be in "box.ts" at
this.mesh.position.x -= 0.01;

I know this is a long shot but maybe there is someone here that can point me in the right direction. Typescript is very similar to C# so..

Thanks i advance for any sort of reply.
-Kobus

Comments

• I doubt it, since this.keyboard isn't giving you an undefined at that point. Aren't you getting a js line number with that error? It's pretty easy to work backwards from that.
  • Hi

Been a while since I have used ThreeJS. AFIK (could be wrong) Mesh object does not have any transform attributes. You need to set it as a child of an Object3D.

Then you can adjust the position and rotations.