A: Gordon Freeman

I'm starting with this titular character to test the idea. I'm not an artist but I figured I'd give it a go as well. I've done Gordon Freeman in the style of the old Sierra quest games.

And my attempts:

image Early Sierra games
image Later Sierra styles

Bigger versions:
Thanked by 1Nandrew

Comments

• (Updated first post)
  • Cool! Pantless Larry style Freeman! :P

Good start, he looks very pantless. And evil (red eyes) :) Gotta give him a crowbar too :)
  • Oh wow, that's ... simple and awesome. Daaang. I reckon that's a cool style choice for not-an-artist. ;)

I'm actually pretty keen to get involved in this comp as well, pixel art is pretty much the only thing I wouldn't feel absolutely terrified trying out ...
  • Damn I wanted to do freeman (just me or does that sentence sound wrong). It's looking good just give the freeman a crowbar, a little shading and change the color of the eyes a bit maybe and he's good to save the earth in all his 2d pixelness :)
  • @LittleBear you can also draw Gordon Freeman, and it will be cool to see the differences.

I will add the crowbar and try fix the pantless feel
  • edited
    @aodendaal Sounds good to me :) I will enter as well but can't produce anything atm coz I'm at work. Looking forward to your moded freeman!
  • Hey, looking good! :) The light grey and the orange look fairly similar in value, making them blend a bit when they appear next to each other. (This is especially visible in the two dots on the sides of his torso I think.) You may want to have another look at him with the image desaturated, and see which colours you can make lighter/darker to push that contrast a bit more.
  • By desaturated you mean see it in greyscale?
  • Yeah. :-) (Er... There are actually several ways to create greyscale images. Desaturation is one of them. Default PS shortcut is Ctrl Shift U.)