Should I Blender?

edited in Questions and Answers
Hello Guys. I haven't been that active on the forums and also haven't been making or working on games for some while now. Since Semester tests and exams are coming up I don't think I am going to get back to learning Game Dev for some time but i plan to learn a whole bunch of stuff (or even maybe make playable game) in the nov-feb vacation :D So now I am just doing a bunch of preparation and research in the mean time.

The thing is I like Programming and I am interested in game programming (maybe as a future career). But the thing is I do not have anyone that can do 3D modeling for me. So I always have to go and use assets from other people, but I would like to learn how to make my own models and how texturing, meshes and all those stuff work (maybe also a good skill to have).

My Question is, Should I use blender or other software for this?

Since I have no experience in modeling what so ever I do not wish to jump around 3D editors for now. And I am not necessarily looking for the easiest 3D editor but more the one that I can benefit from in the long term. Hope you guys have some answers for me and if possible throw some Tutorial links on the post as well. Would be much appreciated.

Good luck with your projects and GAME ON!

Comments

• Im a little bit biased here, but I would recommend using one of the more industry standard programs. You will find infinitely more information and tutorials out there - and if you are going the self taught route this is extremely important.
    By going with an industry standard program you will find it much easier when working with other artists down the road.

Im personally a fan of 3DSMax, but the foundations are pretty similar in all of the programs.

Another alternative is to download Sketchup and start using it to get a 'feel' for 3D modeling, and from there move onto one of the other programs.
  • edited