[Prototype][Game a Month]Cube Miner

edited in Projects
Hey guys this will probably be my first actual game prototype post, going to try and not wall of text you. So I have been of the grid for a while now busy making my own engine using c++ and SDL, it is a struggle but one I would do again as I have a great passion for programming engines but this leads to my next point. As we all know engines are great but they are not games and with this I have decided to start using game maker to prototype small games while working on the engine, my aim is to make games and I also want to fail fast so I'm going to start a game a month seeing as I'm not that good with game maker yet then later try to amp it up to a game a week. So without further ado this months prototype is Cube World.

Objective: Collect treasure and clear the dungeon

Mechanics:
Must haves:
1. Generate random dungeon with multiple floors
2. Most of the walls are destructible (in a bind facing 5 monsters, break through the wall and pick them off one by one)
3. Collectable treasure

Hoped for:
1. Items for character (maybe a diamond pick axe, now where have i seen that before)
2. Level system
3. More than one monster type

Done:
1. Character cube is walking and facing the mouse
2. Destructible blocks are in place
3. Enemy cone of sight working, player can hide behind ground

To do:
1. Add some AI
2. Scoring system

Busy:
Trying to implement random map generation using BSP trees... If it takes up more than a week I think I should just hack the map and move on to other mechanics

Screenshots/Vid:

Download:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ktauspl9gae40w2/Cube Miner v0.0.0.5.zip

Controls: WASD and Left MB for attack and mining :)

Comments

• Hey,
    Looks like a pretty good tech demo there. Not really a game yet.

You might want to change the name to something else. There is already a pretty well known game called cube world https://picroma.com/cubeworld