Intro to Unity Shaders

edited in Tutorials
Okay, first up, this is only going to cover some basic vertex-fragment shader stuff (as opposed to the other types of shaders you can make in Unity, which, for reasons listed elsewhere, have various disadvantages). These are by far the most useful in my experience (although it does depend on what you're using them for, I guess), but they're also most easily applied to other game engines and scenarios. Also, disclaimer, I'm not a programmer. I'm hardly an authority on the matter, and it's totally possible that some of what I've written here is technically inaccurate, but good enough to get you going, and I don't think that's a problem.

I also like the idea of this growing organically, so as you have questions, or as some of those who know better than I do have better explanations, we can update this. Also because I should actually be doing any of hundreds of other things instead of procrastinating like this, so it's more of a 1-hour stream of consciousness for now, but I hope you find it useful anyway.

What is a shader?
A shader is a computer program that takes a bunch of input data (usually meshes, textures and numbers). manipulates them in some way, and then converts them into the pixels that you see on your screen. They're super fun to write, because you can do countless effects with them, but because of how they run millions of times per frame, they're also one of the things that are the most sensitive to killing performance, so small tweaks in optimization in shaders often give you more bang for buck than elsewhere in your code (assuming you're GPU-bound).

What does a shader look like?
I figure the easiest way for you to learn how shaders work is to take an existing shader, play with it, break it, fix it, and see what you end up with. Here's a really basic shader:

Shader "Custom/MobileUnlit" 
{
	Properties 
	{
		_MainTex ("Base (RGB)", 2D) = "white" {}
	}

CGINCLUDE
	#include "UnityCG.cginc"

struct v2f {