[Game Maker] Some questions

Comments

• This is probably the wrong place to post this. but is there a GM specific page or group on this forum maybe?
    Or do you all just use GMC?

I'd like to "make friends" with other SA GM users, to help and learn, I'm really not going to change to Unity this year since I want to leverage what I know which is self taught GM...I didnt do a computer science degree.

So if you want to meet up or invite me to meet your GM group in person I'd really like that, in Cape Town area, please drop me an email at mornebooysen@gmail.com
  • I don't think there's anything like a separate group specifically for GM. Just come to the regular meetups :)
  • edited
    So here's something I hope is an easy answer for...
    I want to zoom in and out as well as rotate the view around a centre point, so I looked up views.

view_angle is straight forward enough - it rotates the view around the centre of the view, awesome.

But I can't find a straight up way to zoom the view, it's view_wview and view_hview that changes the zoom level, but it's always "centred" around 0,0.

So if I want to zoom out and rotate around the centre point, I'd have to maths out where to put the 0,0 point for each angle and "zoom level" of the view?

I tried to use the view follow object thing - both in the view editor and as view_object, but the view_angle changes didn't hinge around the centre...

If it were just the zoom I could figure the maths out, but plus rotation... @_@

Halp? Thanks guys :)
  • One of my students managed to do something like that a while back.

He assigned the scroll mouse in zoom in, but also changed the hbor and vbor for the views. I'm sure theres a smart way to do it that keeps your aspect ratio as well? Maybe look into multiplying/diving the screen with aspect ratio values?