Herororobot Metal Justice

edited in Projects
This is my attempt to make an old-school Golden Axe-style brawler. There is only one level lasting around 5 minutes. Had this posted up on the NAG forums, but thought it might be useful to someone to have a slightly more technically-oriented discussion here.

I'm not a great programmer, but do enjoy messing around with code and finding solutions to problems- that's where this project comes from. I went into this blind and clueless, with no idea of AI or animation, and learnt & puzzled things out as it went.
Trust me when I say that if I can do this, anyone bloody could.

It started with a pencil sketch of the main hero robot. That was scanned and redrawn in Paint.NET in a huuuge size, then scaled down to a tiny fraction and finally displayed at 2xscale for the standard pixel crunchy effect. Everything you see onscreen was done like that, using tracing paper for the crude animations.

Once a few basic art assets were in place, I set about making the framework to control animations and states. Starting by making the main guy able to throw a jab, cross, and an uppercut as a combo, a clumsy system started falling into place and ended up holding together quite robustly - a crude finite state machine!

Simply put, every actor can be in one of several states; IDLE, JUMPING, JUMPINGKICK, SHOOTING, PUNCHED01, and so on. Not sure if this was the best way for it, but it worked a charm since each state had a get-method and a set-method; this allowed me to specify rules when to allow certain states, like being PUNCHED01 only while you're not DEAD, for example.

The state machine also made animation easy, I'd just see which state a thing was in, and draw the associated image/frame.

Most importantly, the state machine made simple AI possible. NPCs try and flank you based on certain rules, or just go at you if they're alone. Bottweilers would randomly stop and bark and then maneuver into a favourable leaping attack position.