Zombie Apocalypse Arcade (iOS & Hopefully Android)

edited in Projects
Hello everyone,

Pleased to make your acquaintances err, online that is. I'm new to talking about game development mostly because I fell into the trap most of you probably know all too well: that downward spiral of continuous development with no set goals and no released product. You know, everything that is completely the opposite of your corporate career. I'm here to break the cycle, to announce myself and to be part of this community as much as time will allow me to.

I worked on a cricket simulator for about 5 years. When I say about 5 years, well that would just be the calendar terms. In reality, I spent a few hours every day. Most weekends and quite possibly 90% of my holiday time on it. As a married man and father of 2 that's a lot to juggle. I don't (and didn't) get out much but more importantly, I never finished. There was always more to do, ways to be more accurate. Ways to simulate more on field events.

So, this year, I halted the project. In turn, I entered uncharted territory. I quite literally took a different approach and went with the road that opened up at every new idea. Since I've started, I've got a game working on my Xbox, my Android and my iPhone. I'm well aware that my graphical skills are lacking and that my game "engine" if I can call it that is in it's 'minimum viable product' stage. Yet, to avoid falling into the same trap and to see how things go, I've submitted it to Apple and am awaiting their review.

Here's a link to the final stage's gameplay trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fqfHfKbGFLk
As far as I can tell most of you use Unity, I don't. I use monogame and nothing more, no public framework no AI engine, nothing. If I need it, I code it.