Beginning - fantasy-themed Interactive Fiction

edited in Projects
Made some time last year. There's not a whole lot else I can contribute to this forum from a 'making' perspective, but there is this. ^.^ This is my first real 'game' using Twine to create interactive fiction - I'm not a coder so stuff like this is the extent of my game-creation capabilities and I am ever thankful for things like Twine/TADS/Inform for existing.

http://welshpixie.com/beginning

Jaco added the minimap and portrait functionality (you can grab the code and read instructions over on the Twine google group) and a friend allowed me to re-purpose some sketches he'd made for another project we were working on a while back as the character portraits. All other (and much more dubious) art is mine.

The map works from coordinates. I drew a minimap as one large image and that's stored in the game files somewhere. Each 'scene' in Twine has coordinates at the bottom and when you click onto that scene, it moves the map to focus on those coordinates. That's the layman's explanation, Jaco can provide more details if necessary. You can see that and the portrait code here:

The styling of the final page is just CSS. Twine outputs a HTML file and you can both put CSS inside one of the Twine dialogue boxes (it allows you to put a stylesheet tag on a dialogue box and then parses the contents as CSS) or otherwise by directly editing the HTML file.

I'm a lover of fantasy so it's a 'high fantasy' story - elves and magic and stuff. I'm thinking of this kinda as 'chapter 1'. I plan(ned) to do more but it was such a head-fuck sorting out the dialogue flow with all the if/elseif statements to keep track of that I needed several months to recover :P It took me a week, if I recall, to make this much and most of that was pulling my hair out at operators; I'm not very logically minded. In an ideal world I'd write the story and someone else would assemble it for me :D