Where to start?

edited in General
Hey guys, I really want to get into programming. I'm new to this. How does a console based program relate to a game with visuals and art? How would I take what I learn from console program programming and make a game? I was talking to a c++ programmer and he said python would be a good place to start. Is this right? Once I've learnt that would it help me to learn c++? Thanks

Comments

• Well, it depends on what your goals are.

If you want to make games in this country I would NOT recommend learning Python or C++.

I would recommend getting your hands on Unity. You can code in both C# and javascript in Unity.

C++ is a really painful language and using it will make the already difficult task of making a game a really really unnecessarily difficult task... and you'll probably fail. The only time you need C++ is if you absolutely have to do low level programming to get more control/performance in order to do something specific that wouldn't be possible otherwise. If you are just starting out then this will not be the case.

As far as I am aware there are no South African games companies using C++ or Python.
  • Console programs use the same sorts of logic (and often syntax, depending on the programming language) as programs with graphics and user interfaces. It's just that games are a lot more complex and end up throwing a lot more data/variables/information around than a typical "Hello World" style program. But in the end, they're all just a similar set of instructions for a chip to process...

That said, your best bet if you're interested in getting into game programming is to pick up a functional system like Game Maker or Unity and go through as many tutorials as you can find. You'll learn the programming side of game development much faster that way than you would if you tried to build everything from the ground up.