Press Releases...

Hi Everyone,

Does anybody have a good list of possible PR Services or even have contacts in the Press area that I can send a Press Release too.

Maybe you can also share some of your experiences with Steam Greenlight and sneding out Press Releases.

Thanks

Comments

• From my limited experience (2 greenlit titles and 1 release), the Greenlight press reaction is underwhelming, as in nearly non-existent, but once you set a release date for the game on Steam everything changes and you will be swarmed for press keys.

There are a few places that have a pretty good response to Greenlight announcement that I'm aware of, IndieDB has a decent user-base and you can get reasonable traffic from them. Also there are a few groups on Twitter that support indie developers, check out #indiegame, #indiedev and #gamedev tags.

Maybe somebody more experienced can give you a better pointer, I'm basically a sole developer with no budget.
    Thanked by 1quintond
  • @critic: Thanks for the insight.

Our IndieDB presence is pretty strong with us maintaining a number above 25 for 2 days now ... so we are getting good traffic coming through, There just seem to be those lulls in traffic where nothing happens, then a press release gets publicized and you have another influx of votes ... very strange to watch the ebb and flow.

Thanks for the tags, I will fire off a little Tweet now and include them ... see what happens.

My team and I are also learning the whole process and we are trying not to flood everyone in one fell swoop ... which is hard.
    Thanked by 1critic
  • We used CosmoCover for Broforce (through Devolver). I have no idea how expensive they are, but they're good and they're excellent people. http://www.cosmocover.com/

You'd have to determine whether going with a large PR agency is right for your game though... It worked out for us for Broforce, but it also could have been a large expense if the game hadn't sold as well as it did.
    Thanked by 1quintond