[Poll] Studios that use blender

Just a quick question to those that make games professionally (specifically studios)

Do you use Blender in production? We do, and I think RetroEpic does too, I would like to know if anyone else does either?

The reason I ask is I would like to suggest to some animation students to learn blender, it would be helpful if I had evidence that it is used by professional studios in SA.

Thanked by 1dammit

Comments

• I do. We're not a "hire people" kind of studio, but to answer your question, in short, yes. :) Can't live without it.

Even doing 2D-ish stuff in Blender:

I get the general impression that 3D artists in SA tend to lean towards 3D Studio Max though, but perhaps should wait for more replies.
    CmO9ChmWYAAY40J.jpg
    700 x 379 - 138K
    Thanked by 1NickCuthbert
  • As a hobbyist I use it extensively! I still want to hold a Blender Unconference some time if there's interest
  • I think this question at its core is more about morality and money rather than which tool is better.
  • Yip. We use blender (and a little bit of ZBrush) at RetroEpic.
  • edited
    @critic - "better" is a matter of opinion. Usually someone will deem the tool they know best to be "better". Feature for feature, Blender can compete with Maya/Max/C4D/LW3D rather well. But in the end it comes down to the individual artist's mastery more than anything.

I think @shanemarks ' original post was more a "will this help students get a local job" type question.
    Thanked by 1mattbenic
  • edited
    Sure, 'better' can mean a lot of things, pricing can also be included as part of something being 'better'. Maybe that's the wrong word, can't think of a better one atm, loosely used I think it's appropriate.
  • @rustybroomhandle yup exactly - wasn't asking which is better (because that is an inherently meaningless question) but specifically who is using it in South Africa in a professional capacity